Explore Wicomico County’s History via the Chesapeake Country All-American Road

Explore Wicomico County’s History via the Chesapeake Country All-American Road

Explore Wicomico County’s History via the Chesapeake Country All-American Road

Nicole Wheatley - November 1, 2023

Designated as an All-American Road in 2021, the Chesapeake Country All-American Road (CCAAR) takes travelers through the extraordinary landscapes and waterscapes of the Eastern Shore. Explore the lifestyles and livelihoods of generations of watermen, shipbuilders and farmers who shaped an unspoiled landscape, making it easy for travelers to imagine earlier times.

Wicomico County’s Pemberton Historical Park is included on the CCAAR. Once a thriving plantation, Pemberton Hall was built on the Wicomico River in 1741. The 262-acre property is now home to the historic Hall, interpretative signage and 4.5 miles of nature trails. The park is open daily from dawn to dusk, while the Hall is open the first and third Sunday between 1-3 p.m. from May-October, or by appointment. To explore the Chesapeake Country All-American Road in its entirety, visit Maryland's website.

Other notable historical sites in Wicomico County, just off the CCAAR include:

Poplar Hill Mansion: The ambitious Federal-style structure was built between 1795-96 outside the small eighteenth century town of Salisbury. Poplar Hill Mansion is open for tours every Friday and Sunday from 12-4 p.m., or by appointment.

Charles H. Chipman Cultural Center: The anchor of historic Black Salisbury, the Chipman Cultural Center is located in Downtown Salisbury. The former African American church dates back to 1837, when five local freedmen purchased property and built a structure for use as a church, school and meeting place. Tours available by appointment.

Village of Whitehaven & Whitehaven Ferry: Settled by the English in the late 1600’s, Whitehaven was named by Col. George Gale after his hometown in England. The Whitehaven Ferry has been operating since 1688 and is thought to be the oldest continuously operating ferry in the United States. The historic Whitehaven schoolhouse / museum and church are open the second and fourth Sunday between 1-4 p.m. from April-November, or by appointment.

Parsons Cemetery: Is there really a gravestone designed by Tiffany’s at Parsons? Where is the grave of Medal of Honor recipient John Purnell Chatham? Is there really a horse buried in Parsons? Find the answers to these questions and more by taking Parsons Cemetery Walking Tours. The cemetery is open daily from dawn to dusk.

Join Our Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter and you will receive regular news and promotions.

Sign Up